Allegiance – A New American Musical Base upon experiences of Japanese Americans forced into internment camps in WWII

George Takei joins with an amazing bunch of people with resumes in the stratosphere for this musical, opening the winter 2012/2013 winter season at San Diego’s Old Globe.

I hope the people of the area (a lot of RWers from what I read) are decent and honest about the times this play addresses. America can never fulfill the promise until we honestly face the whole of our history. And we can’t do that without accurate ethnic studies to help present our history in total and full perspective.

Hoping those of you in proximity of San Diego get to check this out. Not many things make me envious, but this would.

Posted here for you on Feb. 19 Japanese-American Internment Day of Remembrance, in honor of Mr. and Mrs. Harada who always offered a safe haven, love, friendship, and grace to me and my brother when we were rag-tag kids going through tough times. The Haradas never made light of our problems or fears, so small compared to what they had suffered, what their families had lost. Never was there hate though they had every reason to carry it in their hearts. Understanding, safety, wise friendship, and loving acceptance was what one found in their modest home. So much beauty shared so generously. So much rich culture.

Mr. Harada was the first grown man I ever saw cry. It was out of his inability to understand hate, this time, the hate of another neighbor who was horrid to, and tried to physically hurt, his daughters, my best friends. After trying to make the neighbor understand the grown ups should leave old hatreds aside and ‘let all our American children grow and be strong together’ he was met by such ugliness that it brought him to total despair. He sat with my mom in our living room, pouring his sadness out as my brother and I had done often in his home. It made me understand so much and I was so proud to know our home was also a safe place for him. It felt right that my mom could return such favor in some small measure.

Like Mr. Harada said that day, so very long ago: “I still can’t understand the hate”.

Frank, I remember the stories, told without anger or resentment. I read more as I got older. I am a better person for knowing you and Mika. Where ever your souls rest, know I remember and hold light in your honor.

Those who deny history not only end up repeating it, they deny the very soul of what America was envisioned as being. Remember. Make sure the children know real history. It is the only road to freedom and justice.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Attila the Blond
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 14:33:02

    This ugly bit of our national history is one more reason we need to have ethnic studies (ahem, talking to YOU, AZ legislators) in schools Our nation has made mistakes and we can only more closely aim toward the ideal America by knowing the real history, where we erred, that we can work for realizing the goal of real equality and justice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

